March 12, 2014

The Book Marketing Plan - Installment Four

Now that I have the 1) Goal and 2) Overall Strategy locked in, I’m moving to the next section of the marketing plan: 3) Audience. This was probably the most difficult section for me to nail down because I want everyone across all audiences to read my book. But it’s extremely important to hone in on your readers, so you know where to reach them -- and even then, it’s tough.


THE NEW AGENDA - MARKETING PLAN

3) Describe your audience

a) Why’d you write it?  (Task. Topic. Target)

To entertain (task) hip and cutting edge adults (target) with futuristic dystopian stories (topic).

I wrote it because it’s a cool idea and very relevant to the direction our society is headed. I wanted to explore the most extreme consequences of living in a society that is controlled by clandestine think tanks and their hidden agenda. I’m hoping that it inspires people to open their eyes and become aware of what’s going on behind the curtain.

b) Who Will Buy Your Book?

1) Professional females, 21 – 45, who work in creative fields like the advertising or entertainment industries.

2) Cutting edge men and women, who are on the look out for new books in the post-apocalyptic genre.

3) Sci-fi geeks.

4) YA females who are looking for the next sci-fi series.

The audience has some crossover. 1) New sci-fi readers who like The Hunger Games, Divergent – dystopian story with some romance and 2) More seasoned sci-fi speculative fiction readers who like The Matrix, MaddAddam Series, or A Brave New World – saying something about the state of the world.

c) How do I speak to them in the terminology they’re used to using on this subject?
Post-Apocalyptic and Dystopian fiction. Love Story. Genetic Engineering. Transhumanism. Societal Oppression. Eugenics.

d) How they will be informed, entertained, or educated by your treatment of the subject?
Like in The City Center, there is the underlying social commentary threaded throughout the novel. I don't want to ram it down the readers' throats, but rather let them come to their own conclusions bases on the information I set before them.

e) What motivates them to learn more about my subject?
 “Hey do you all see what’s happening around us? We are being controlled and manipulated and our freedom is slowly being taken away from us under the guise of protection. If you’re interested in this kind of stuff, I wrote a book about the most extreme consequences to these type of conditions.”

f) Who is a dominant competitor in this field?
Hunger Games series, Divergent series, Wool series

g) What does my book give people they don’t already have? 
Ugh. I really don’t like this question. My book is different because it’s my take on eugenics. It’s my voice, which will be different than other authors.

h) My book is different because:
Double Ugh. It’s different because it's mine. I could write a book about why my book is different, but I already did.


Next Step:
- Describe your tactics and specific actions (that’s gonna be a long one!)


Keep writing. It saves lives.